Secret of Nightingale Wood cover

Praise for The Secret of Nightingale Wood

After being named Waterstones Children’s Book of the Month in October, The Secret of Nightingale Wood by Lucy Strange has received an inpouring of fantastic reviews. Here are a few highlights.

‘Superbly balanced between readability and poetry… this is an assured debut.’ The Guardian

‘A gripping novel in Secret Garden mode… Bliss for passionate readers aged nine and older.’ The New Statesman

‘Strange’s writing is luminous, and she has created a story about friendship, love and family that is wonderfully involving.’ Literary Review

‘Rich with nods to classics like Tom’s Midnight Garden… [An] outstanding debut.’ The Bookseller

‘Startlingly good.’ The Telegraph (Number 10 in The Telegraph’s Top 50 books of 2016)

‘Old-fashioned storytelling with a light touch.’ The Sunday Times

‘Friendships, family, love and loss all come together in this beautiful debut set in 1919.’ The Sunday Express

‘A very powerful story… and so much to become engrossed in: friendship, bravery, loss, survival, and the healing power of love and nature.’ JUNO Magazine

‘Tender, funny, devastating and just about word perfect.’ Natasha Farrant, author of After Iris and Time for Jas

‘A beautifully told story about loss, grief and the restorative power of the imagination.’ M G Leonard, author of Beetle Boy

‘A thoroughly enjoyable book with great characters and a strong heart… A compelling and immersive read.’ Jo Cotterill, author of A Library of Lemons

‘A touching story, rich in atmosphere.’ Julia Eccleshare, Love Reading 4 Kids

‘This book is absolutely stunning but beware it’s not for the faint of heart.’ Judith, age 11 Love Reading 4 Kids

‘It has been a while since a book has taken me on such a huge rollercoaster of emotions… This story is beautiful and heart wrenching.’ The Collective Word book blog

‘This book is a keeper.’ Adventures From the Sofa book blog

‘A hard-hitting yet haunting story that adults will enjoy just as much as children. Named Waterstone’s Children’s Book of the Month in October, it’s the perfect novel for readers who enjoyed The Secret Garden and Goodnight Mister Tom, and marks out Strange as an exciting and heartfelt new voice in the world of children’s fiction.’ The Media Eye

‘A compelling story…’ Primary Times

‘A magical, lyrical mystery-adventure.’ MuggleNet book reviews

‘Lucy Strange provides a wonderful narrator who will draw readers into her world. The Secret of Nightingale Wood is one of those books that will stay with you.’ Luna’s Little Library book blog

‘An exciting adventure, a painful eye-opener and a beautiful story about one girl determined to make her family whole again.’ Page to Stage Reviews

‘I felt like I’d stepped back in time and rediscovered a lost classic… It left me with tears in my eyes and joy in my heart… [A] truly incredible debut.’ Jo Clarke, Book Lover Jo